Forum Short Courses

Dreier 2017

Short Course on Electric VTOL Technology
Monday, May 13, 2019 from 8:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.
Cost: US$275.00
Organized by Dr. Anubhav Datta, University of Maryland
Download the syllabus (PDF)

Electric Vertical Take Off and Landing aircraft – or eVTOL – are aircraft propelled by electric power and capable of carrying people. There has been a dramatic resurgence of interest in these aircraft, driven by advances in electric-propulsion, digital manufacturing, high-fidelity simulations, and drone technologies (mobile computing and deep-learning). However, man-rated aircraft are more complex than drones, and require more than a clever combination of scaled-up components from consumer electronics and automobiles. Maturation of eVTOL into a safe, sound, and sensible aircraft require a clear understanding of rotary-wing fundamentals, principles of enabling technologies and timely resolution of its major barriers. The objective of this course is to introduce these fundamentals, technologies and barriers.

Led by Anubhav Datta from the University of Maryland, this multi-presenter course will provide an overview of the unique challenges and opportunities of this new class of vehicles. Both electric and hybrid-electric passenger carrying vertical flight aircraft will be covered for a variety of missions ranging from personal/private use to urban air taxis to regional electric VTOL bizjets.

Who should take the course: Aerospace engineers interested in electric power. Electrical / Mechanical engineers interested in VTOL aircraft. The content will be presented in a simplified and practical manner to allow innovators, entrepreneurs, and non-VTOL experts to be able to make useful calculations and build their own design / simulation tools. The content will be presented in a simplified and practical manner aimed to engage a wide audience of mixed aerospace and non-aerospace background. A simplified multi-rotor VTOL aircraft will be designed and analyzed in class, progressively, as an illustrative example.

PowerPoint course notes will be emailed to all registered participants before the class.

Instructors' Bios:

Anubhav Datta is a member of the Alfred Gessow Rotorcraft Center (AGRC) as an Associate Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Maryland at College Park. He holds a M.S. and Ph.D. in Aerospace Engineering from Maryland. Anubhav DattaHe joined AGRC in 2016 after nine years at the U. S. Army Aviation Development Directorate (ADD) at NASA Ames Research Center, where he worked on full-scale UH-60A Airloads Test, 3D solver development for rotor aeroelastic stress/strains, and initiated research on eVTOL in 2012. His current research in Maryland is focused on modeling and testing of new electric propulsion concepts for eVTOL and improving dynamic loads and stability of high-speed tilting prop-rotors through wind-tunnel testing and CFD/CSD simulations. He is the chair of the VFS Integrating Technical Team (ITT) on eVTOL, led NARI's inter-city eVTOL working-group in 2016-2018, Chair of the AIAA Structural Dynamics Conferences Sub-committee, member of VFS Dynamics Committee, and Associate Editor of the Journal of the AHS. The research conducted by Datta and his colleagues and students have been recognized by VFS's Alfred Gessow Best Paper Award, Grover E. Bell Award, and Francois-Xavier Bagnoud Award, NASA's Technical Excellence in Publications Award, and Group Achievement Awards from the US Army and NASA.

Michael Ricci is the Vice President of Engineering, LaunchPoint Technologies, and the driving force behind LaunchPoint Technologies “Propulsion By Wire” electric aircraft propulsion effort and spent the last 6 years as PI on a number of projects to develop electric aircraft propulsion technologies. Mike RicciThese projects have included the development of highly efficient and powerful dual halbach array motors, high specific power wide bandgap semiconductor motor drives, and hybrid-electric gen-sets and bus power management systems. Applications have included HALE vehicles, helicopter electric tail rotors, multi-rotors, and eVTOL vehicles. During Mike’s 17 year tenure at LaunchPoint Technologies he has worked on flywheel energy storage, implantable heart assist pumps, medical oxygen concentrators, engine valve actuators, and a magnetically-levitated freight transportation system. Prior to joining LaunchPoint, Mr. Ricci worked as a mechanical engineer with Spectra F/X, a theme park engineering company, where he served as Project Engineer on several very large custom systems with high cycle rates, intimate man-machine interfaces, and high human-safety concerns.

James Baeder is a member of the Alfred Gessow Rotorcraft Center as a Professor of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Maryland at College Park. He is currently the Associate Langley Professor Chair at the National Institute for Aerospace. Dr. James BaederHe holds a M.S. and Ph.D. in Aeronautics and Astronautics from Stanford University. He joined the AGRC in 1993 after nine years at AFDD. His research interests are in developing and applying Computational Fluid Dynamic methods to better understand rotor aerodynamics, acoustics and dynamics. He is a pioneer in the development of high-fidelity CFD and aeroacoustic methods and tools for rotorcraft. Currently he is focused on the development of improved CFD algorithms on GPGPU technology, to: capture the details of laminar/turbulent transition; dynamic stall; as well as tip vortex formation, convection and interaction with other surfaces including fuselages, towers or the ground and including adjoint capabilities. Dr. Baeder's research has been funded by Excelon, NASA Ames and Langley, the Army Aeroflightdynamics Directorate, the Army Research Office, the National Rotorcraft Technology Center, NAVAIR and DARPA, with support from the various helicopter companies. Dr. Baeder is a Technical Fellow of the Vertical Flight Society, member of the Acoustics Technical Committee (1996-present), member of the Aerodynamics and Propulsion Area Committee, and Chairs the Innovation and Commercialization Committee of the Business Network for Offshore Wind as well as the National Offshore Wind Innovation Center.