François-Xavier Bagnoud Award

François-Xavier Bagnoud Award

The François-Xavier Bagnoud Vertical Flight Award, created in 1992 and first known as the AHS Director’s Award, is given to an individual Society member under the age of 35 for their career-to-date outstanding contributions to vertical flight technology. The Award honors the memory of a young helicopter engineer, Swiss citizen, author and rescue pilot who founded the AHS student chapter at the University of Michigan. At 20 years of age, he published a treatise on helicopter aerodynamics. Subsequently, he developed within Europe IFR procedures for rotorcraft, and as a commercial pilot, he performed more than 300 helicopter rescue missions.

  • Carl Russell
  • Research Aerospace Engineer
  • NASA Ames Research Center

For his unique rotorcraft experimentation, and innovative applications of design and analysis modeling tools to environmentally‑friendly, electric VTOL and unmanned rotorcraft.
  • Dr. Moble Benedict
  • Texas A&M University

For his pioneering work in micro air vehicle technology - namely aeromechanics design, autonomous controls and micro-sensors/actuators - and his extensively published research
  • Andrea Chavez
  • Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.

For building a strong technical background in helicopter propulsion systems, and is a powerful advocate for engineering through pre-college outreach efforts
  • Eric Sinusas
  • Drive Systems Engineer
  • Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.

For his significant contributions to the design of gearboxes and drive systems, development of a laser hardening method to improve wear characteristics of a rotorcraft drive spline, and to the manufacturing, lubrication, protection and repair of rotorcraft drive systems
  • Dr. Daniel Patt
  • Program Manager
  • US Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)

For his significant contributions in rotorcraft acoustics, vibration reduction, aerodynamics, structural dynamics, propulsion, rotorcraft design and integration, which have advanced the state of the art of vertical flight
  • Dr. Jose Palacios
  • Research Associate
  • Pennsylvania State University

For his research in rotorcraft icing, smart structures and experimental mechanics
  • Joseph G. Irwin
  • Senior Manager, Flying Qualities
  • The Boeing Company

For career accomplishments that include major contributions to the advancement of control law technology for vertical take off and landing aircraft.
  • Jeffrey D. Sinsay
  • US Army AMRDEC
  • Andrew Elliot Augenstein
  • Design and Analysis Engineer 3, Boeing Rotorcraft Division
  • The Boeing Company
Mr. Augenstein, an avionics integration engineer, has made significant contributions to the development and implementation of a new Open Systems Architecture (OSA) for the avionics system on the Block III AH-64D Apache helicopter. As part of this effort, he led the development of a new subsystem called Mission System Management, responsible for managing the control and health monitoring of the avionics system and the interface with all other systems.
  • Ryan Ehinger
  • Senior Engineer
  • Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.
Mr. Ehinger, who is currently the Principal Area Lead for drive system research programs at Bell, has, in a few short years, developed a comprehensive technology development plan which includes a technology path forward for the V-22, H1, and Bell's Joint Heavy Lift program. The award honors the memory of a young helicopter engineer, Swiss citizen, author and rescue pilot who founded the AHS student chapter at the University of Michigan.
  • William J. Eadie
  • Advanced Design Engineer
  • Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation
  • Dr. Anubhav Datta
  • Assistant Research Scientist
  • University of Maryland
  • Dr. Vineet Sahasrabudhe
  • Principle Engineer
  • Sikorsky Aircraft Corporation
  • Dr. Nikhil A. Koratkar
  • Assistant Professor
  • Rennsselaer Polytechnic Institute
  • Chad Sparks
  • Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.
  • Dr. Catherine H. Ferrie
  • Research Project Engineer
  • Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.
  • Christopher D. Sargent
  • William P. Geyer, Jr.
  • Andreas P.F. Bernhard
  • Dr. Farhan Gandhi
  • Bryan Cotton
  • Dr. Michael S. Torok
  • Jeffrey C. Dudley
  • Dr. Ed Smith
  • Adam Sawicki