Grover E. Bell Award

Grover E. Bell Award

The Grover E. Bell Award is given for an outstanding research and experimentation contribution to the field of vertical flight development brought to fruition during the preceding calendar year. The Grover E. Bell Award was created by Larry Bell, founder of Bell Aircraft (now Bell Helicopter Textron) in 1957, in honor of his pioneering older brother, Grover E. Bell, who was killed in an aircraft crash in 1913. Eligible contributions include sub-systems as well as systems. The award consists of a 3-inch gold medal bearing the profiles of Lawrence and Grover Bell, a certificate, and a $250 honorarium.

Award winners

2015 - Sikorsky, AATD, Lord Hub Mounted Vibration Suppression Design and Test Team

2014 - AgustaWestland’s Project Zero Team

2013 - AMRDEC/NASA/PM Armed Scout Helicopter/Bell Aerodynamics Improvement Team

2012 - AH-64D Apache Block III Technology Development Team

2011 - UH-60 Airloads Wind Tunnel Test Team, consisting of the U.S. Army, U.S. Air Force, NASA, and the National Full-Scale Aerodynamics Complex (NFAC). Team leaders included Thomas Norman, NASA Ames Research Center, and Patrick Shinoda, U.S. Army Aeroflightdynamics Directorate

2010 - 3D-LZ Team comprised of engineers and pilots from the U.S. Air Force, H.N. Burns Engineering Corporation, the U.S. Army, the U.S. Marine Corps, L-3 Vertex, the University of California at Santa Cruz, and Infoscitex

2009 - US Air Force/Arnold Engineering Development Center National Full-Scale Aerodynamics Complex (NFAC) Team

2008 - U.S. Army/NASA/Sikorsky UH-60M Upgrade Flight Control Team

2007 - Manned/Unmanned Common Architecture Program, Phase II, (MCAP II) Team

2006 - Dr. Valentin Kloeppel

2005 - The Boeing Company Unmanned Little Bird Team

2004 - MV22 Integrated Test Team

2003 - National Research Council of Canada Flight Research Laboratory

2002 - University of Maryland Alfred Gessow Rotorcraft Center

2001 - Bell Helicopter Textron Inc. NASA, U.S. Army Multipoint Adaptive Vibration Suppression Systems Team

2000 - Rotorcraft Pilot's Associate Team

1999 - Tiltrotor Aero-Acoustical Model Team

1998 - Rotorcraft Industry Technology Association Health and Usage Monitoring System Team

1997 - U.S. Army/McDonnell Douglas Helicopter Systems Longbow Apache Team

1996 - Bell Helicopter Ducted Tail Rotor Team

1995 - U.S. Army Aeroflightdynamics Directorate and NASA Ames UH-60 Airloads Program

1994 - NASA Full Scale Aerodynamics Complex

1993 - NASA Full Scale Aerodynamics Complex

1992 - George T. Singley, III and The U.S. Army Rotorcraft Centers of Excellence: Georgia Institute of Technology, University of Maryland, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

1991 - Bell Helicopter Textron 4BW Team

1990 - No Award Presented

1989 - Sikorsky Aircraft UTC 'Shadow' Team

1988 - Sikorsky Aircraft UTC Systems Technology, Inc.

1987 - Boeing Vertol Company, U.S. Army Applied Technology Directorate

1986 - Franklin D. Harris, Bell Helicopter Textron

1985 - Army Applied Technology Laboratories / Sikorsky Aircraft ACAP Team

1984 - U.S. Army ATL, Ft. Eustis

1983 - Boeing Vertol Simulation Lab

1982 - Dr. Wayne R. Johnson

1981 - XV-15 Project Team

1980 - No Award Presented

1979 - Wesley L. Cresap

1978 - Hughes Helicopters, AH-64 Tech. Team and Sikorsky Aircraft UH-60 Tech. Team

1977 - U.S. Army Avn. Eng. Flight Activity

1976 - Sikorsky Aircraft, ABC Concept

1975 - Thomas H. Sanders

1974 - No Award Presented

1973 - No Award Presented

1972 - Jan M. Drees

1971 - Boeing Vertol, Model 347 Team and Hughes Tool, Engineering Team

1970 - Sikorsky Aircraft, S-67 Black Hawk

1969 - AVLABS

1968 - Sikorsky Aircraft, Flying Crane Concept

1967 - Edwin J. Ducayet and Bell's HUEY/COBRA Team

1966 - U.S. Air Force Air Rescue and Recovery Service

1965 - Paul J. Carpenter

1964 - No Award Presented

1963 - U.S. Army 11th Air Assault Division, Ft. Benning

1962 - U.S. Army Aviation Center, Ft. Rucker

1961 - Sikorsky Aircraft, Engineering Team

1960 - U.S. Army Aviation School, Ft. Rucker

1959 - Igor I. Sikorsky

1958 - Leon L. Douglas

1957 - Kurt H. Hohenemser