AHS Announces 2012 Scholarship Recipients

Press Release Banner

April 5, 2012

ALEXANDRIA, VA – AHS International – The Vertical Flight Technical Society is pleased to announce its 2012 Vertical Flight Foundation (VFF) scholarship recipients.

The VFF was established in 1967 as the philanthropic arm of the American Helicopter Society. Governed by a Board of Trustees, the Foundation's operation is made possible solely through voluntary tax-deductible contributions. In 2011, VFF provided 18 scholarships totaling nearly $35,000. This year, the VFF is proud to announce that a total of $50,000 was awarded to 19 individuals thanks to the generosity and support of its contributors. Following are this year's awardees who will be recognized at the Grand Awards Banquet at the 68th AHS Annual Forum on May 2, 2012 in Ft. Worth, Texas.

Bachelor Degree Recipients
  • Amanda Bjorkland, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University – Charles H. Kaman scholarship
  • James Black, University of Maryland – Evan A. Fradenburgh scholarship
  • Ben Rothacker, University of Michigan – Dr. Richard M. Carlson scholarship
  • Sumant Sharma, Georgia Institute of Technology – Barry J. Baskett scholarship
  • Xing Wang, University of Michigan – Joseph P. Cribbins scholarship
Master Degree Recipients
  • Natasha Barbely, Georgia Institute of Technology – Hal Andrews scholarship
  • Tejaswi Jarugumilli, University of Maryland – Charles H. Kaman Scholarship
  • Anand Karpatne, University of Texas at Austin – Evan A. Fradenburgh scholarship
  • Joseph Schmaus, University of Maryland – John McLaughlin scholarship
  • Jared Soltis, Pennsylvania State University – Don Toler scholarship
  • William Staruk, University of Maryland – Dr. Richard M. Carlson scholarship
Doctorate Degree Recipients
  • James Coder, Pennsylvania State University – Dr. Feri Farassat scholarship
  • Kedar Naik, Stanford University – Alfred L. Wolf scholarship
  • Gurbuz Ozdemir, Pennsylvania State University – Hans and Gil Weichsel scholarship
  • Daniel Prosser, Georgia Institute of Technology – Joseph P. Cribbins scholarship
  • Juergen Rauleder, University of Maryland – Dr. Richard M. Carlson scholarship
  • Nicolas Reveles, Georgia Institute of Technology – Barry J. Baskett scholarship
  • Robert Scott, Georgia Institute of Technology – John McLaughlin scholarship
  • Robert Vocke III, University of Maryland – Evan A. Fradenburgh scholarship

For more information on the Vertical Flight Foundation or to donate to this important cause, please visit http://www.vtol.org/education/vertical-flight-foundation-scholarships.

For further information on the Society and its Awards Program, as well as to view past award recipients, please visit the Society's home page at http://www.vtol.org/awards.

The American Helicopter Society (AHS) International is the world's premier vertical flight technical society. Since its inception in 1943, AHS has been a major force in the advancement of the vertical flight. The Society is the global resource for information on vertical flight technology. It provides global leadership for scientific, technical, educational and legislative initiatives that advance the state-of-the-art of vertical flight.

AHS International – The Vertical Flight Technical Society, 217 N. Washington St., Alexandria, VA 22314, USA; (703) 684-6777; FAX (703) 739-9279; Send email; web site: www.vtol.org.